Community Foundation for Brevard Announces New Board Chair and Three Directors

Respected community leaders, fundholders, and experts in their professional fields make up the Foundation board. This will be the board chair’s ninth year on the board and fifth year as an officer.

From left to right: Elizabeth O. Shorr, Gina Rall, CPA; Scott Sorensen, Jamara Wilson Harvin

The Community Foundation for Brevard announces a new board chair, Elizabeth O. Shorr, and three board members, Gina Rall, Scott Sorensen, and Jamara Wilson Harvin. An independent 501(c)(3) entity, the Foundation provides the expertise, networks, and information that empowers philanthropists to maximize their impact in Brevard and beyond. In 2023, thanks to its donors and their commitment to building a better world, the Foundation granted $2.9 million and fostered strategic and collaborative partnerships to address local challenges and help build a thriving community.

Leading the board of directors forward, Shorr is an accomplished businesswoman with a professional background in advancement and philanthropy. Prior to her retirement, she was the founding president and CEO of The Foundation for Maine’s Community Colleges, developing sustainable philanthropy for the Maine Community College system. Previously, she held senior executive positions with education and health organizations. Shorr joined the Community Foundation board in January 2016; since then, she has chaired multiple committees, served as an officer since 2019, and established the Shorr Family Fund in 2021. Shorr has served on boards for many nonprofit organizations.

“Throughout my career and in my nine-year journey with the Community Foundation, I have witnessed firsthand the integral power of philanthropy,” said Shorr. “That’s why, as I take on this role, I’m particularly excited to welcome these individuals to our leadership group. Their unique perspectives, experience, and deep commitment to community will weave together and help produce transformative results for this beloved place we call home.”

Rall, CPA, senior trust officer and vice president with Cypress Bank & Trust, returns to the board after serving from 2000 to 2014 and leading as chair from 2012 to 2014. She brings specialized expertise in individual estate and trust taxation, fiduciary accounting and administration for trusts and estates and a particular interest in eldercare and people with special needs. Additionally, Rall is an active member of various professional associations and serves on the boards of The Arc of Space Coast and CATCH (Space Coast Early Steps).

Sorensen is an accomplished businessman and recognized leader. Since 1977, as the president and owner of Sorensen Moving & Storage and Sorensen Logistics, Sorensen focused on quality, leadership, and customer service to drive exponential growth. Retained as a consultant by the companies’ new owners, Sorensen continues other business endeavors and serves on the Brevard Zoo board and Aquarium campaign cabinet. Sorensen has been inducted into the Junior Achievement Business Hall of Fame and honored as Florida Space Coast Entrepreneur of the Year and Florida’s Small Business of the Year.

Wilson Harvin, owner of Progressive Cleaning and Tuxedo Impressions LLC, leverages her business acumen and leadership skills across sectors to increase efficiencies and drive positive change. A sought-after consultant and public speaker, Wilson Harvin has been highly recognized, including as a 2019 Orlando Business Journal’s 40 Under 40 honoree. She currently serves as a board member of nonprofit 8 Cents in a Jar and the Melbourne Regional Chamber of Commerce and a member of the Civilian Military Community Relations Council.

“Our directors are the embodiment of true philanthropy. It’s through their vision and collective efforts that we are able to advance our mission, deepen our impact, and drive results for our community,” said Theresa Grimison, president and CEO of the Community Foundation.

The 2024 Community Foundation for Brevard Board of Directors:



Jennifer Griffin, CPA, Carr, Riggs & Ingram, Treasurer

Theresa Grimison, President and CEO

Anne McPhee, J.D., LL.M., Studenberg Law

Elizabeth O. Shorr, Shorr Family Fund, Chair

Amanda G. Smith, Esq. WhiteBird PLLC, Past Chair

Myles H. Wilkinson, Wilkinson Family Fund, Vice Chair



Laura Chiesman, Savant Wealth Management

Keri K. Donald, Steadytown

Kit Fisher, Insurance Office of America

Robin L. Fisher, Robin L. Fisher Insurance Agency

Shirley Friedland, Paul & Shirley Friedland Fund

Douglas G. Holton, Holton Family Fund

Robert J. Naberhaus III, Esq., Dean Mead

Kelli Peck, CPA, RSM US LLP

Gina Rall, CPA, Cypress Bank & Trust

Scot Sorensen, Community Volunteer

James Suplee, Artist

Jamara Wilson Harvin, Progressive Cleaning


Directors Emeritus:

Ronald E. Bray, CPA

Michael S. Cerow, CPA

Dale Dettmer, Esq.

Brian Fisher, CPA

William Harris, CFP

Darcia Jones Francey

Linda J. May

Don Molitor

Kurt D. Panouses, Esq.