Community Foundation for Brevard Welcomes 2019 Board Chair and New Board and Committee Members


MELBOURNE, Fla., (February 5, 2019) – The Community Foundation for Brevard, a public grantmaking foundation dedicated to serving Brevard County, has announced new officers for 2019 and three newly appointed board members.

Robert J. Naberhaus III, Esq. was elected chair of the Foundation’s board, commencing in January. Naberhaus has been a board member since 2015. He is a shareholder in the Viera office of Dean Mead.

Other officers and returning board members include: Amanda Smith, Vice Chair; Elizabeth O. Shorr, Secretary; Juliana Kreul, Treasurer; Michael S. Cerow, Past Chair; Ashley Byrne, Holly Carver, Brian Fisher; Linda J. May; Arthur R. Schmitt; Bob Sukolsky; James F. Suplee; and Myles H. Wilkinson.

Newly appointed Community Foundation Directors include:

Shirley Friedland is a businesswoman, volunteer, and philanthropist. She was the executive director of the Tourette Syndrome Association and an independent consultant for national and global organizations including the National Organization for Rare Disorders, Marfan Syndrome Foundation, Parkinson’s Disease Association, and Camphill Village. Following her career in the not-for-profit sector, Friedland served as CFO and administrator for Innovative Routines International. She holds a bachelor’s degree from Pennsylvania State University and a master’s degree in sociology from Long Island University.


Jennifer Griffin is the tax director for Whittaker Cooper Financial Group. Griffin has a master’s degree in accounting, with a tax specialization from the University of Florida. She has deep experience working with business owners on tax planning, cash flow planning and business succession, in addition to extensive knowledge of transactions on behalf of real estate developers and investors.


Justin Knox is a tax partner with Berman Hopkins Wright & LaHam, CPAs and Associates. Justin joined Berman Hopkins in 2011 after graduating from the University of Central Florida with a master of science in accounting, with concentration in tax. Justin has taken an active role as a leader in Brevard County, supporting a broad range of nonprofit organizations.


Additionally, Kurt Panouses, after 17 years of visionary leadership and distinguished service, was invited and appointed as a Director Emeritus for the organization. Kit Fisher, Prime One Insurance, was asked to join the Grant Committee of the board as a community representative, beginning in 2019.

“This is an important year for the Foundation as we continue to build our momentum,” said Theresa Grimison, president and CEO at the Community Foundation for Brevard. “I am grateful to past chair Michael Cerow for his vision, dedication, and support, and look forward to working closely with Rob and our entire board leadership during this period of great growth and positive philanthropic impact for our community.”

About Community Foundation for Brevard

The Community Foundation’s for Brevard’s mission is to strengthen communities through philanthropy. Since 1981, we have helped donors invest their philanthropic gifts wisely, helped nonprofits serve the region effectively, and inspired people to make the community a better place. With the deepest integrity and best practices, the Foundation has successfully stewarded the philanthropic interests of current and past donors, granting more than $20 million to build a better, more vibrant Brevard County and beyond. Visit to learn more and join us.

View Full 2019 Board of Directors